Wednesday Words with Violet Joicey-Cowen

The Choosing, Violet Joicey-Cowen, erotic romance, romance, m/m, manlove, siren publishing, siren-bookstrand, joicey-cowenI’m so excited to welcome author, Violet Joicey-Cowen to Wednesday Words. Her latest book, The Choosing, has just released today at Siren-Bookstrand. Now she’s here to share a few things with us and maybe we’ll even get a hint of what is coming up soon.

Q & A with Violet Joicey-Cowen

Lynne St. James: Welcome Violet, I’m so glad you could join us.

Violet Joicey-Cowen: Hi Lynne, thank you so much for having me on your blog today, it’s great to be here!

~~~~~

Lynne: Can you tell us a little about your background and how you started writing?

Violet: I have been a bookworm since I was tiny. My love of reading was encouraged by my grandmother. I was an only child living on a farm in the middle of nowhere and began writing stories down when I was about ten or eleven as entertainment– very tweeny self-indulgent stuff, but I was enjoying myself, and I still have most of it! I hope my writing style has evolved a little since then, though!

 ~~~~~

Lynne: How did you get started writing M/M (Male/Male) stories?

Violet: I read one. Lol, it was that simple! Once I read my first, I couldn’t get enough and two weeks later I had my first character jump into my head. That was Charlie from my first Whithowe Forest Pack book, Alpha Second.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: Your latest book, The Choosing, releases today. Can you tell us a bit about your main characters?

Violet: The main characters in The Choosing are called Korin and Ansen. Korin is one of three brothers (who aren’t actually brothers, more cousins, but they think of each other as brothers) who are all princes who start with equal rank in the line for the throne.

Korin is the caretaker of the three brothers and loves the other two so much. There is a lot of pressure on him with being the eldest of the three and he desperately needed the time away that he is at the end of at the beginning of the book. He also loves the captain of his guard, Ansen, but has not realised it yet.

Ansen has known he loved Korin for years but never thought he would have a chance with him. He loves Korin so deeply and though he thinks he will never be with him, still wants to do everything in his power to protect him and look after him. It doesn’t even occur to him to leave and go do something else, somewhere else.

Lynne:  I think we’re falling in love with them already!

 ~~~~~

Lynne: The Choosing is the first book in your series, how many books will there be?

Violet: This book is the first in a trilogy. Each of the princes will get their own book, but after that there are further trilogies planned, each with a different setting. At the moment there will be four trilogies (so twelve books) and one short story. There are more details on my blog and website.

Lynne:  That’s a great concept and will give us plenty to look forward to.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: If you could meet one author, who would it be and why?

Violet: One? I have been a bookworm since I was four years old! How am I supposed to only pick ONE author I could meet? *grumbling and muttering* oh okay… I suppose Anne Mccaffrey has always been one of my favourites and she wrote such diverse worlds with many books to her name. I would love to have met her and learned where she got the ideas for her books from and how she developed them into her detailed, fantastic worlds.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: Do you write in story order or hop around?

Violet: I have only written one story that I didn’t write linearly, and that was only the one scene that I wrote first then went back to the start. I much prefer to write the story in order and have it unfold as I go. I find it difficult to hop about and then connect the scenes in a way that makes sense.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: What do you find hardest about writing? Easiest?

Violet: My self-organisation skills suck. So remembering all the other things I have to do is one of the hardest things for me. I have to make lists for everything, multiple lists because I lose half of them. I love the ‘sticky notes’ app and have a load of notes on my desktop including one with my writing to-do list with dates everything is due by. Easiest? I have never had a problem with getting ideas for new stories (yet! Oh, my muse, please don’t abandon me!).

 ~~~~~

Lynne: Do you have a specific writing “ritual?”

Violet: I like to have a cup of tea when I write, earl grey specifically, and I am very fussy about how I take it! But as to an actual ritual? No, not really. I write in several places, curled up on my bed against a mound of pillows, in my study, in a lawn chair when it is sunny out, in my dining room, in a coffee shop, in a bar, pretty much anywhere I can take my laptop.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: What one word would you use to describe yourself to a complete stranger?

Violet: Chaotic.

 ~~~~~

Lynne: If you were shipwrecked on a desert island and only could bring one book, which one would it be?

Violet: Again with the only one? That’s just mean! Can I have the complete works of William Shakespeare? It would keep me going for a while at least… If I can’t have that, then no books, just an awful lot of paper and a good supply of something to write with. One book would get rather boring no matter how much I loved it at the start, but if I could write my own while there, I would be constantly entertained! Hang on… Desert Island, peace and quiet to write… sign me up!

Lynne:  I can’t help it, I couldn’t pick just one either, but it’s fun to torture errr ask anyway!

~~~~~

The Blurb:  The Choosing

[Warning: For mature audiences only (Over 18) Erotic Alernative Historical Fantasy Romance, M/M, HEA]

Thinking his duty and heart lead in different directions, what will Prince Korin of Nilan’dane decide to do? A letter arrives from Korin’s father, summoning him home for the Choosing after a year’s freedom in the desert, and Korin must face the fact that he is deeply in love with his best friend, the captain of his guard, Ansen.

Ansen has known for years that he loves Korin but never spoke of his feelings because he knew the duty Korin must perform, marrying and producing an heir for the kingdom. He never dared hope Korin would not only return those feelings, but actually be able to choose him.

Their brief happiness is ripped apart through the machinations of the twisted brother of one of Korin’s other suitors, and they must fight to hold on to the hope that they will see each other, and the baby Korin was carrying, again.

~~~~~

Where to buy Violet’s books:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Siren-Bookstrand

~~~~~

Where to find Violet:

Website
Blog
Facebook
Email

~~~~~

Once again I want to thank Violet Joicey-Cowen for joining us today on Wednesday Words.  I hope you have enjoyed her visit as much as I have, and don’t forget to check out The Choosing available now at Siren-Bookstrand.

♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Wednesday Words, Writing

Leave a comment