Wednesday Words with Aurora Clairmont

aurora clairmont, clairmont, The Starlet, romance, erotic romance, menage, siren-bookstrand, siren publishing, books, wednesday words, words.  debut author, authorWelcome to this week’s installment of Wednesday Words. Today I am happy to have debut author, Aurora Clairmont. Her first book, The Starlet, was recently released by Siren-Bookstrand.

The Interview:

Lynne St. James:  Aurora, can you tell us a little about your writing?

Aurora Clairmont:  This is my first novel, but I am not new to writing. I have been role-playing seriously for over eight years. When I say first novel, I mean first novel. I hadn’t written a book before at all. The first draft of my first book was accepted with minimal edits. I head hopped in a few sentences, so the rest was grammatical. Believe me, I am not perfect and am in fact a little lazy with my ‘casual’ words.

I like to write down the right words the first time. If that means stewing for a month and only creating the concept and outlining in my mind in order for it to flow, that is what I do. I finished writing half the book of The Starlet in about a month after stewing for several previously. Not stuck really, just sitting with it and thinking about what I wanted to do. I write in order from beginning to end, picking through what I wrote already as I move forward and planning for what I want to happen next.

I don’t want to talk too much about my real life, BUT! I do have an interesting link in with the topic for my book.

~~~~~

Lynne:  Can you give us some insight into Diana Winters, your heroine?  What makes her so special?

Aurora:  She is one of those naturally talented people who is also very down to earth and relatable. Think Jenifer Lawrence. Diana isn’t based on her per se, but she has that grace and ease. Except, when she falls it is generally due to her night blindness in lower lighting.

~~~~~

Lynne:  Is The Starlet going to be part of a series?  If so can you tell us about the series?

Aurora:  The Starlet is the very first book in the Set in the Old West series. The series setting is on the sets of western films and focuses on a group of actresses and actors who overlap into each other’s stories. There are five books planned, the first three take place during the filming of the film series that is kicked off in The Starlet. The final two books take place separately from the first three, but are all tied together by theme and recurring characters.

~~~~~

Lynne:  What are you working on now?  Can you tell us a little about it?

Aurora:  The Director is in the works. It is the second book in the Set in the Old West Series and features the ‘bad guy’ from the first book. Carolyn Cole, the director of the film series my story follows. She is a complicated woman and a bit of an anti-heroine. I am having a blast writing her and redeeming her character by unraveling the reason she is who she is and why she does what she does.

~~~~~

Lynne:  What do you find hardest about writing?  Easiest?

Aurora:  The hardest thing is pinning myself down. The easiest thing is that when I do sit down and write it just flows out. I like to stew over my ideas and get it right the first time I write it. Otherwise I fuss and obsess and end up wasting so much time reworking that if I had just waited and let it come to me I would have had more ideas. Better ideas.

~~~~~

Lynne:  Do you write more than one book at a time?

Aurora:  I have the next four books in this series ready to write. Not outlined, but I know where it starts, the resolution I want, who the characters are and their motivations. I just have to put it all together and see what happens. Let them tell me their story. I am going to focus on a book at a time, but whenever I have an idea for one of the others I write it down for when I can get to it.

~~~~~

Lynne:  What is your favorite color?

Aurora:  I don’t have a favorite color, but my favorite color combination is red and gold.

~~~~~

Lynne:  What are your favorite and least favorite foods?

Aurora:  I love ethnic food! Least favorite would have to be the spinach ice cream my dad used to tease me about.

~~~~~

Lynne:  What is your favorite Movie?  TV Show?  Book?

Aurora:  As far as how many times I have actually watched, seen and read it would have to be:  Disney’s Tangled, Pride and Prejudice Mini Series with Colin Firth and The Sword of Truth Series by Terry Goodkind. Yes. I am all over the place. You should see my playlist!

~~~~~

Lynne:  What is your favorite curse word?

Aurora:  I don’t have one exactly. I like strange ones, made up ones and of course the classics can be very satisfying to say. Shakespeare came up with many an interesting insult.

~~~~~

The Blurb for The Starlet:

Starlet Diana Winters arrives on set of the Western she is starring in, completely naïve to the fact her world is about to be turned upside down when she meets her two handsome costars.

Jason Lance plays the sweet ranch hand Jimmy Wes, and the infamous Cody Hartley plays the Wild Red Samson.

When the camera turns on, so does she. Diana’s attraction to each is apparent and goes beyond her acting out her character’s feelings for each of theirs. Diana’s heart and body is torn between her two painfully handsome male leads. Each man has so much to offer, and she wants it all. Who will she choose? Does she really have to? A voice in the back of her mind is refusing to accept that as the only option.

Buy The Starlet from Siren-Bookstrand

How to Find Aurora Clairmont:

Facebook

Website

Goodreads

Twitter

Once again I want to thank Aurora Clairmont for visiting with us for today’s Wednesday Words. I hope you’ll check out her brand new book The Starlet.

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Wednesday Words, Writing

6 responses to “Wednesday Words with Aurora Clairmont

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Words with Aurora Clairmont | averygale

  2. Yay!! This sounds like a great story! Loved the interview! Congrats and wishing you wonderful sales!

  3. Diana Merritt

    Looks great!

  4. Pingback: Aurora Clairmont – I was interviewed!

Leave a Reply

