Wednesday Words With Debra Ann Fisk

I’m kicking off a new blog series, one to help showcase many of the authors I know and love.  Each Wednesday I’ll have a different guest author share some of their “words.”  I hope you’ll join me every week as we meet and greet some wonderful word wranglers.

I’m so excited to introduce you to this week’s author, Debra Ann Fisk.  She is a very good friend of mine and a fellow member of my local RWA Chapter.  Her first book, Irresistibly Delicious, is a contemporary romance set in Cozy Cove.   And now without further adieu…here’s Debra.

irresistibly delicious, debra ann fiskThank you, Lynne.  I’m honored to be a guest on your blog.

This year has started off very exciting for me.  My first novel, Irresistibly Delicious, was released on December 31st.  What a way to ring in the New Year!  When I think back to what inspired me to write this novel there were a lot of components that went into it.

I love reading small town contemporary romance.  Jill Shalvis, Kristen Higgins, and Roxanne St. Claire are a few of my favorites.  The idea of this novel evolved completely from a few of my personal life circumstances.  My husband was finishing his medical rotations and wants to move out of Florida once they are completed.  I have lived in Florida for the past twenty years and don’t want to leave the sunshine for the colder weather.  That was the initial conflict.  I love to cook like Olivia Carson, my heroine, and of course my husband is the doctor like Brady Matthews.

When I sat down to write this story I wanted to write a book people would relate to.  I think my characters are likeable people with quirks and funny personalities like the family and friends we all know and love. I try not to include unrealistic goals, hopes or dreams. I like my stories to have a down-to-earth feeling, and I hope the readers will think I have achieved that.

Right now I’m working on book two in the series, which is the story of Cookie Lucas, Olivia’s best friend.  She meets a very hot and steamy guy and knowing Cookie more than paint will fly.  I hope to finish writing it by the end of the month.

 

Book Blurb:

One feisty Southern chef. One sexy city doctor. One thousand miles apart. Trauma draws them together, but will circumstances pull them apart?

Chef Olivia Carson’s painful past haunted her until she discovered the healing solace at the Cozy Cove Inn. She fell in love with the bed and breakfast and its owner, Myra. But her world is rocked to its core after Myra has a life threatening emergency.

When Brady Matthews, Myra’s son and a well-known cardiologist in NYC, shows up to care for his mother sparks fly in more ways than one. Olivia and Brady disagree about everything, all the while fighting the sexual attraction that draws them together. As Brady begins to reevaluate his life and Olivia creates a new career for herself, the risk of scandal and past secrets threatens to rip them apart.

Will a headstrong surgeon and a gourmet chef learn to accept love? Or will they choose professional success with a side order of loneliness?

Contact Info for Debra:

Author’s website:  www.debraannfisk.com

Public email address: debraannfisk@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/debraann.fisk also

https://www.facebook.com/debraannfiskauthor – my author fan page

Twitter: https://twitter.com/debra_fisk

Buy Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/irresistibly-delicious


2 Comments

Filed under Books, Wednesday Words, Writing

2 responses to “Wednesday Words With Debra Ann Fisk

Leave a Reply

