Comfort Food

french, onion, soup, french onion soup, cheese, bread, gruyere, recipe, comfort food, lynne st. jamesWhat’s not to love about comfort food? Except that it usually isn’t the healthiest thing to eat, but hey we can all be bad sometimes, right?  There is something about the weather turning cooler that brings out the desire to spend a lot more time in the kitchen.  I really do love to bake and experiment with different recipes.  Shall I share a secret?  When I was in elementary school I made it all the way to the local finals in the Girl Scout Bakeoff.  It was intimidating and exciting to bake my homemade chocolate layer cake in the Sears Test Kitchen.

But I digress.  LOL!  Last week was one of the first days it was really “cold” in Florida so I dug out a recipe for French Onion Soup.  I hadn’t made it in years and since my family has shrunk, i.e. my children have all flown the nest, I knew I would get quite a few servings out of it.  But luckily it freezes well.

I posted the picture on Facebook and I received so many comments that I decided to start posting recipes here.  So this is the first of many.  I hope if you try it you’ll let me know how you enjoyed it.

If you have any requests for specific recipes that you’d like me to post you can let me know that as well.  But for now–welcome to the inaugural recipe! LOL

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

